A fitting farewell

The valedictory ceremony for North Lake’s 2018 Year 12 class was a spectacular success.

Held in the theatre at Mt Pleasant Baptist College, the event featured stunning musical performances from past and present students Nikita, Brielle, Ellie, Lincoln, Felix (pictured), James, Lili, Caleb and Yannis.

Special guests were the Federal Member of Fremantle Josh Wilson, Mayor of Cockburn Logan Howlett, Mayor of Melville Russell Aubrey, Cpl James Dastik representing the ADF and Sue Cuneo the regional executive director for the South Metropolitan Region of the Department of Education.

The guest speaker for the day was former North Lake student Rosie Myers now a partner at Geoghegan Myers Legal. Her moving address was a reminder of what can be achieved in the face of adversity and the part North Lake can play. 

Our principal Mary Margetts and students Tom (Year 11) and Abigail (Year 12) also addressed the gathering. Abigail (pictured) had earlier been announced as North Lake’s dux for 2018. A list of the prize winners follows.

Congratulations to all the departing students and to Dean McKenna for his tireless organisation, MC Robin Coopes, student presentation announcers Nadia Lekias and Andrew Gauci, Taryn Hammond for her behind-the-scenes work, Carol for the flowers, the Hospitality teachers and students for the brilliant afternoon tea and Mt Pleasant’s technical manager Peter Robins who helped make the event look and sound good.

The day was probably best summed up in a Facebook message from Narelle Thoms who wrote: I have to also say that the ceremony in all was incredible! So inspirational and emotional. The best valedictory/graduation ceremony I have ever seen!

Major award winners 2018

North Lake Senior Campus Dux 2018 – Abigail Derrick

NLSC Endeavour Award – Lachlan McPhail (above)

NLSC Active Citizen Award (Josh Wilson MP) – Ellie Vance

Long Tan Leadership Award (ADF) – Venus Santos (below)

Caltex Allrounder Award – Pechsuneerat Nawan

Principal’s Award – Diether Quintana

Australian Super Award for excellence in VET – Jose Denver Espanol

Learning Area Awards

Subject awards are presented to the highest ranking A grade student for ATAR, General Courses and Foundation Courses. 

ATAR Maths Applications – Abigail Derrick

General Maths Essentials – Ton Nu Minh Nguyen

ATAR English as an Additional Language – Diana Coreia (above)

General English – Elise Nankivell

General English as an Additional Language – Grazeil Calimbo

General Career and Enterprise – Venus Santos

General Business Management and Enterprise – Daniel Velda

General Psychology – Elise Nankivell

General Design Photography – Lwe Moo

General Food Science and Technology – Kim Nalus

Foundation Applied Information Technology – Akbar Maulana

General Computer Science – Engel Mateo

VET Certificate for Outstanding Application Hospitality – Kim Nalus

VET Certificate for Outstanding Application Industrial Studies – Mohammad Ali (above)

Certificate II Community Services – Lili Thoms

Certificate III Education Support – Zainab Baboli

Certificate II Creative Industries – Engel Mateo

Certificate II Visual Arts – Felix Camponova

Certificate III Visual Arts – Lwe Moo

Certificate II in Sports Coaching – Jonathon Gakona