A time for reflection

Year 12 Valedictory

The Valedictory ceremony in October was a fitting farewell for the 2022 Year 12 class – a group of students impacted by COVID 19 for all of their senior schooling.

Speakers including Craig Wright (Manager of Student Services), Claire Meiklejohn (Year 12 Coordinator) and Year 12s Shadlin Shahnazi, Anas Youseif and Eleanor Fehlberg urged students to reflect upon the progress they made, the relationships forged and to celebrate their achievements. Eleanor included a rider in her address, urging students to take a few weeks away from even thinking about study or school once their commitments ended.

Principal Gary Anderson said: “… prepare well for your life ahead, reflect on your time here and the friends you’ve made and the teachers who have guided you, acknowledge all of them and use this time to reflect and prepare for life after North Lake.”

Special guests included Commander Anthony Nagle representing the ADF, Peter Best from the Rotary Club of Booragoon, Hannah Gunning representing Josh Wilson MP, Peter Tinley MLA, Mayor of Cockburn Logan Howlett and the Deputy Mayor of Melville Thomas Fitzgerald.

Major Award winners

ATAR Dux: Charlotte Duce-Reid

Non-ATAR Dux: Sariah Margraf

ADF Future Innovator: Tim Lavery Jnr

ADF Long Tan Leadership: Ariane Sharman

Josh Wilson MP Citizenship: Eleanor Fehlberg

Rotary Club of Booragoon: Georgia Savage

Rotary Club of Booragoon: Darlian Smith

Ampol All Rounder: Eleanor Fehlberg


Subject Awards (Highest achieving student)


Chemistry: Zidaan Aedo

EALD: Shadlin Shanazi

English: Charlotte Duce-Reid

Human Biology: Charlotte Duce Reid

Modern History: Sera McGrady & Charlotte Duce Reid

Mathematics Applications: Tim Lavery Jr



Career and Enterprise: Jess Mouawad

EALD: Jess Mouawad

Maths: Ganga Singh

Curtin UniReady: Jess Walton


Applied Information Technology: Cameron Powell

Chemistry: Charlotte Duce-Reid

Design: Jess Walton

EALD: Kyla Aquino

English: Summer Buckman

Food Science Technology: Leticia Huaman Donoso

Human Biology: Kyla Aquino & Sariah Margraf

Intergrated Science: Cameron Powell

Mathematics: Kyla Aquino

Materials-Metals: Ganga Singh

Materials-Wood: Athen Ayres

Psychology: Cameron Powell